This is the way…at least for me.

Like most of my approaches to my ever evolving understanding of my gender, my last post eluded to another step.

Other than a couple of recent “damn the torpedos, full speed ahead” activities like starting to play hockey at 62 or skating on my units Ice Capades team in front of a full arena, I have experienced my growth, understanding and acceptance of who I am by taking a step up and plateauing for a while, then another step followed by another plateau. It has been a while since my last plateau commenced as I have contemplated taking the next step. I’ve lifted my foot a couple times, but never committed.

Friday the 15th of February, I took that next step; I commenced a low dose gender affirming hormone treatment, aka micro dosing. My intentions for this “plateau” is to take the edge off my masculine side. 12.5mg Cyprotarone Acetate (CPA) once a day and 1mg Estradiol twice a day will not produce any rapid or substantial changes but as I said, I like taking the small steps and being comfortable before progressing further.

I’m now into my second week, with nothing that I can really report on, though I do believe I have a greater sense of calmness, like not so easily pissed off at idiotic drivers…lol.

Through my extensive reading (and maybe someone here can relate) even at these lower doses, my hormone levels should be in the typical female range after about three weeks. Other “side effects” may then develop over the next 6 months to 2 years. As time goes along, I’ll know when I want/need to step up into that next plateau. My NP will see my after six weeks and redo my bloodwork. In the meantime I’ll continue my task of educating as many folks on gender diversity as possible.

1 Comment

  1. I dress openly. I grind my my teeth when CDs hide their faces…

Leave a comment