October 2014: An update.

Well folks, sorry it’s been a while since I last posted anything, I’ve been busy with life in general. Family time during the summer, unexpected extension to overseas employment and generally, not too much interest in things involving crossdressing. That is until a couple of days ago.

I got caught up following and contributing to a couple of threads on Crossdressers.com. One in particular got me re-thinking a number of issues that I have previously blogged about. I don’t intend on going back and editing any of my older posts, as they show how I’ve change my understanding of the issues and of myself. So please bare that in mind if you are reading this first.

After some 50 posts in response to a thread “Not trans? Huh? I don’t get it” this was my contribution…

I have never follow a whole thread before, but this one has me intrigued. And, as others have said, just when I thought I had things figured out….. I am though taking a number of points away from this discussion.

Firstly, I will endeavor not to use the term trans or trans*. It will be the full word so as not to leave any question as to what I am talking about. Secondly, why do we need to use labels? Is it something we do for ourselves or for others in an attempt to answer the question “why do we do what we do”? A justification?

I agree with Jennifer and Tinkerbell on the majority of what they have said. When I have the opportunity to dress, I am still a male through and through, I’m still a husband, a dad. There is no girl trying to get out, but for whatever reason, I sometimes want to portray a woman and be seen as one. I have taken a page from Isha’s book and will not waist time anymore seeking the answer to “why?”.

If someone were to ask me again if I considered myself “trans or trans*”, I would now say “I’m just an average guy (well, maybe not that average) who, every once in a while, just happens to enjoy dressing and (hopefully) passing as a woman. As such, that makes me a crossdresser. Crossdressing happens to be just one of many aspects of the transgender spectrum, which in its self, is contained within the LGBT community.”  Not exactly an answer to a simple question, but rather a long winded statement (but a concise one) to describe this small part of my being.

Well, up until now I’ve really only been a lurker, I mean a reader of these threads, but for some reason, I now feel I have to contribute. Maybe just another point in my maturing,

As I said, I am going to try and not use short forms of words or even abbreviations for clarity of understanding. I will no longer pursue an answer as to why I crossdress. As I’ve stated in a recent post, I am me, this is just part on me, and I’ll enjoy that part of me when I can. No questions asked. To miss-quote a small green alien from a galaxy far far away “Do or do not. There is no why”.

So, heading home for a few weeks off in November and then I’ll be back home just before Christmas after shutting down operations and joining the mass exodus from this….place. I may be unemployed, but at least I’ll be home.

Thanks for stopping by.

Michelle.

Leave a Reply

